Windsor half-marathon

Okay, you could be right I may have lost my marbles…but the fact of the matter is my sister Julia, and I have signed up for a half-marathon. We are doing this craziness in support of our dad who was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease about two years ago. Our dad is the best dad ever, I’m not just saying that because he’s my dad but because that is the truth. Our dad has always been there for us, a man who worked hard but had time for his three children, who took us to the park to play cricket and other ball games. He taught us to ride our bikes and picked my bruised and embarrassed self off the floor when my bike literally fell apart on me. He was always there when we needed advice; he fixed things when they broke. Every step of the way through our lives he has been there for us even when we didn’t necessarily deserve it.

Over the last couple of years, we have seen the deterioration that this wicked disease has wrought on him. The strong, active man now struggles with the everyday things, but he still pushes on. He tries to bring forth the words that flow freely from our mouths. We can see the frustration that these debilitating affects have on him. He cracks jokes and endeavours to stay upbeat even though he is in pain at times.

So for him we are signing up for this half-marathon, for him we will push ourselves to our limits -or certainly I will be – my sister is more of a runner that I am.

Now let me tell you just how crazy this is for me. The most I have jogged is 10km on a treadmill…I now have to do approximately 22km outside. Did I mention that I can’t run outside, 5 or 10 minutes is my PB. Can’t seem to regulate my pace or breathing. Oh yes, I can hear you all cackling, the laughter bubbling up from deep inside you, rising up your throats and bursting out as you split your sides. “Good luck.” I hear you say. I’ll take that, I need all the luck I can get.

I have until the 27 September to train…so watch this space. I may update my blog over the next few months with the highs and lows, the pain and the…mmm might need to think about that one!

I used to ride through Windsor Great Park on a horse…I wonder if that would be allowed.

Leave a Reply

